My Grandfather

45 years ago, today, one his 26th birthday, my grandfather’s life changed. He had an accident while playing rugby (which he did professionally) and was left paralysed.

Many years later, in August 1998 (3 months before I was born) he passed away after his organs gradually stopped working.

I never had the pleasure of meeting my grandfather but he has always and will always play a huge role in my life. The stories of him became part of who I am and contributed to the person that I’ve become. In his absence he has affected my outlook on life and how I see the world.

So, happy 71st birthday to my grandfather. I love him unconditionally. And I can honestly say that I am lucky to have had a grandfather like him.

“It’s funny how some people’s presence can mean nothing, and others’ absence can mean everything”

image

Love, Luck and Rubber Ducks

Leave a comment